NFL Beast

The Best Damn NFL News Site Ever!

Chiefs announce 2023 team MVP, rookie of the year award winners

2 min read

#NFLBeast #NFL #NFLTwitter #NFLUpdate #NFLNews #NFLBlogs

#KansasCity #Chiefs #KansasCityChiefs #AFC #ArrowheadPride

By: John Dixon

Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Kansas City players vote on the Derrick Thomas and Mack Lee Hill awards after every season.

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced their Derrick Thomas and Mack Lee Hill award winners for the 2023 NFL season. The Chiefs finished the regular season 11-6 to claim the AFC’s No. 3 seed — and then went on to defeat the San Francisco 49ers, 25-22, in Super Bowl LVIII.

Kansas City has now won back-to-back championships — and three Super Bowls in five seasons. The team votes on these awards after each season has concluded.

Derrick Thomas Award (most valuable player)

Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes won the Derrick Thomas (most valuable player award) for the third time in his career (2018, 2022).

CHIEFS.COM: Mahomes threw for 4,183 yards and 27 touchdowns in 2023 before leading Kansas City on one of the greatest postseason runs in NFL history, culminating in a second-straight world championship.

Mack Lee Hill Award (rookie of the year)

Taken in the second round of the 2023 NFL Draft, former SMU wide receiver Rashee Rice was named the Mack Lee Hill (rookie of the year) award winner.

CHIEFS.COM: Rice caught 79 passes for 938 yards and seven touchdowns last season before hauling in an NFL rookie-record 26 receptions during the postseason. Fifteen of those catches picked up a first down, including a 13-yard catch on third down in overtime of Super Bowl LVIII that extended Kansas City’s game-winning drive.

Originally posted on Arrowhead Pride