NFL Beast

The Best Damn NFL News Site Ever!

Fred Taylor not selected for Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024

2 min read

#NFLBeast #NFL #NFLTwitter #NFLUpdate #NFLNews #NFLBlogs

#Jacksonville #Jaguars #JacksonvilleJaguars #AFC

By: Adam Stites

Jacksonville Jaguars great Fred Taylor was not among the five modern-era selections for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024.

Taylor, 48, was a semifinalist for four years without reaching the finalist stage of the selection process. That changed this year when Taylor was one of 15 to be a finalist for the Class of 2024. Still, he didn’t get in as Dwight Freeney, Andre Johnson, Patrick Willis, Devin Hester, and Julius Peppers were the five picked to be enshrined as modern-era selections later this year.

In 11 seasons with the Jaguars, Taylor racked up 11,271 rushing yards, 2,361 receiving yards, and 70 total touchdowns. He finished his career with two seasons with the New England Patriots, but managed only 424 rushing yards during that stint.

Taylor is 17th on the all-time rushing list behind 14 players already in the Hall of Fame and two — Frank Gore and Adrian Peterson — who undoubtedly will be soon.

The only Jaguars player to ever be enshrined in the Hall of Fame is offensive tackle Tony Boselli, the team’s first ever draft pick. Wide receiver Torry Holt, who spent most of his career with the St. Louis Rams before finishing with one year in Jacksonville, was also a finalist who didn’t earn a spot in the Class of 2024.

Taylor is eligible to be a modern-era nominee until 2035. Among the players who will be newly eligible in 2025 are linebacker Luke Kuechly, offensive lineman Marshal Yanda, and safety Earl Thomas.

Originally posted on Jaguars Wire