NFL Beast

The Best Damn NFL News Site Ever!

Doug Pederson named a finalist for NFL Coach of the Year

2 min read

#NFLBeast #NFL #NFLTwitter #NFLUpdate #NFLNews #NFLBlogs

#Jacksonville #Jaguars #JacksonvilleJaguars #AFC

By: Adam Stites

Jacksonville Jaguars coach Doug Pederson is one of three finalists for the Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year Award, the AP announced Wednesday morning.

The other two finalists are Brian Daboll of the New York Giants and Kyle Shanahan of the San Francisco 49ers.

In Pederson’s first season with the Jaguars, he led the team to an AFC South title and a postseason victory before the year ended with a loss in the Divisional Round. Jacksonville did that despite being one of only two teams in the NFL — along with the Chicago Bears — with zero Pro Bowl or All-Pro players.

The Jaguars won just four games in the two seasons prior to Pederson taking the reins.

Daboll similarly turned around a struggling franchise, leading the Giants to a 9-7-1 record and the team’s first trip to the playoffs since the 2016 season. Shanahan’s 49ers came into the 2022 season with high hopes, but had to navigate injuries suffered by quarterbacks Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo. Despite the quarterback carousel, San Francisco is set to meet the Philadelphia Eagles in the NFC Championship with Mr. Irrelevant, Brock Purdy, under center.

The Coach of the Year will be announced on Feb. 9 during the NFL Honors show that will air on NBC at 9 p.m. ET.

Originally posted on Jaguars Wire

%d bloggers like this: