NFL Beast

The Best Damn NFL News Site Ever!

Texans WR Andre Johnson makes 2024 Hall of Fame

2 min read

#NFLBeast #NFL #NFLTwitter #NFLUpdate #NFLNews #NFLBlogs

#Houston #Texans #HoustonTexans #AFC

By: Tyler Greenawalt

Andre Johnson is finally headed to the NFL Hall of Fame.

The legendary Houston Texans wide receiver was selected as a member of the 2024 Hall of Fame class in his third year of eligibility. He will be enshrined on August 3 alongside Julius Peppers, Devin Hester, Dwight Freeney, Patrick Willis, Steve McMichael and Randy Gradishar.

Johnson is the first Texans player who spent the majority of his career in Houston to make the Hall of Fame (safety Ed Reed played just seven games).

He spent the first 12 of his 14 NFL seasons with the Texans after being selected with the No. 3 overall pick in 2003. He made seven Pro Bowls and two All-Pro teams during that stretch before he finished his career with one-year stints with the Indianapolis Colts and Tennessee Titans.

The McNair family posted a congratulations message to Johnson following the announcement.

“You have always been a Hall of Famer in our eyes,” the McNairs said in the statement,” and we are incredibly proud that you have secured tour rightful place in NFL history forever.”

Johnson wracked up 1,062 receptions for 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns throughout his career. Those numbers rank 11th, 11th and 18th all-time. He led the NFL in receptions in two seasons (2006 and 2008) and receiving yards in two seasons (2008 and 2009). Johnson is also one of only five receivers with at least 1,500 receiving yards in three or more individual seasons (the others are Jerry Rice, Julio Jones, Antonio Brown and Marvin Harrison).

Johnson capped off a historic night for Houston, as rookies C.J. Stroud and Will Anderson Jr. won their respective awards, while head coach DeMeco Ryans – one of Johnson’s former teammates – finished second in Coach of the Year.

Originally posted on Texans Wire